Create/Modify Groups and Groupings

The Groups feature allows a teacher to allocate students to specific teams.  Students can be part of many different groups within the same course. When you navigate to the Groups tab, you may notice the students are in preexisting groups however, you can create additional groups.

Why use groups?

  • You are a teacher in a course where you have several classes and you want to filter your activities and gradebook so you only see one class at a time.
  • You are a teacher sharing a course with other teachers and you want to filter your activities and gradebook so you don’t see the students from your colleagues’ classes.
  • You want to allocate a particular activity, resource or topic section to just one class or set of users and you don’t want others to see it.

A Grouping is a collection of groups. It allows you to collect groups together. By using grouping, you can choose to show a resource or activity only to the groups within the selected grouping.

source: Moodle



Manually Create Groups

Add/remove group members

Edit group settings

Delete a group

Create a grouping

Add/remove groups from a grouping

Edit grouping settings

Delete a grouping



Manually Create Groups

1. Expand the navigation drawer on the left-hand side of the Learning Portal.

2. Click on Participants.


3. Click on the edit settings icon (gear icon), then select Groups.


4. On the Groups tab, click Create group.


5. Enter a name for the group. 
The following options are not mandatory thus you may skip them:

  • Add a description for the group
  • Create an enrolment key if you require members to enter an enrolment key
  • Add a picture icon for the group (small square image)


6. Click Save changes. The new group will be displayed in the list of groups.


Add/remove group members

1. Once you have created your additional groups, you can add or remove members.

2. From the list of groups in the left column, select the group that you want to add or remove members from. Members of that group will be displayed on the right if any.


3. Select Add/remove users.

4. The left column lists the existing group members. The right column lists potential members, not allocated to your selected group.


5. To add or remove members, select the name of the member and use the Add or Remove button to move them from one column to the other. You can select multiple names by holding down the CTRL/command(⌘) key or SHIFT key.

6. Once finished, click Back to groups.


Edit group settings

1. On the Groups tab, select a group, then click Edit group settings.


2. Make required changes, then click Save changes.

Delete a group

1. On the Groups tab, select a group, then click Delete selected group.


2. To confirm the deletion, click Yes. The group will be removed from your group list.


Create a Grouping

1. Expand the navigation drawer on the left-hand side of the Learning Portal.

2. Click on Participants.


3. Click on the edit settings icon (gear icon), then select Groups.


4. Click on the Groupings tab then click Create grouping.


5. Give your grouping a name. Leave Grouping id number blank and group description is optional.


6. Click Save changes. Your new grouping will appear in the groupings tab.


Add/remove groups from a grouping

1. On the Groupings tab, select a grouping, then in the Edit column, click on show groups in grouping icon.


2. The left column will list the existing groups within the grouping if any. The right column lists Potential groups not allocated in the selected grouping.

3. To add or remove groups from a grouping, select the group by clicking on it and use the Add or Remove button to move them. You can select multiple names by holding down the CTRL/command(⌘) key or SHIFT key.


4. Click Back to Groupings.


Edit grouping settings

1. On the Groupings tab, select a grouping, then in the Edit column, click the Edit icon.


2. Make required changes, then click Save changes.



Delete a grouping

1. On the Groupings tab, select a grouping, then in the Edit column, click the Delete icon.


2. To confirm the deletion, click Yes.

3. The grouping will be removed from the grouping list. Note that this action does not delete the groups only the grouping.



Last modified: Thursday, 2 September 2021, 1:01 AM